Why I like silver

24Knews main news & discussion threads
Forum rules
Please read: 24Knews Forum Rules

Why I like silver

Postby Schaublin » Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:21 am

Back in 2006 I returned to the UK (temporarily) after having spent some years in Russia and Moldova where I studied Russian and taught English - amongst other things...

I had begun to develop an interest in economics as a result of my interest in history - especially Russian history and initially tried to understand the insane property bubble that had developed in the UK. Housepricecrash provided a good entry for me to understand what was going on and I decided to sell my apartment in June 07 - it sold for the asking price immediately which was just over three times what I had paid in 2001. That Summer was the peak of the bubble and I felt myself lucky to have exited at the top. At that time, 5% interest was easily available on deposit - which was more than I had received in rent on the apartment but nevertheless, I began to accumulate gold - I felt that what was occurring in the UK was not only the collapse of a housing bubble but that the housing bubble itself was all that had propped up an otherwise basket case of an economy.

By spring 08, I was comfortable with my gold position and began to research silver - why was it so cheap and why had it been so cheap for so long? I spent many hours reading different opinions on silver - from price suppression and partial monetisation through to the industrial uses - and possible future uses. After a few months I came to the conclusion that silver is ..... cheap!